Vornado Air Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Vornado Air
Shop Heaters or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for TVH 500 Heater

TVH 500 Heater

TVH 500 Heater
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TVH 500 Heater
Review 1 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whois1145
State: Kansas
Age: 25-34
Sex: Male

Awesome product

Date:August 26, 2010
I've loved Vornado fan's since I was growing up as a kid. My family's always had them around because they are high quality and last forever. The most important part is they circulate air very effectively. When I was in the market to buy a heater fan I turned to only one company. I decided to go with their best model because of all the features it offered. I was very pleased to see that it had all the modern safety features that most of the others in stores didn't offer. The remote is nice, very basic but nice. The fan is built in well and it just works. I do not have to worry about something catching fire because they've insulated the sides and the entire metal cover is cool to the touch. I think if I could give the product 10 stars I would, but 5 will do for now!
+7points
33out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
salvo
State: Washington
Age: 45-54
Sex: Male

It's so unobtrusive that I rarely notice it

Date:December 1, 2010
Got the Touchstone 500 three years ago for our entertainment room in the basement, which is not well ventilated for heat. It runs unnoticeably quiet with a small footprint that stays out of the way. In spite of the large room (~12x30 feet), the 500 manages to bump up the temperature at least five degrees. It is always cool to the touch when it's time to turn it off. Just now, its qualitative impression led me to purchase Vornado's evaporative humidifier and 660 circulator. The overriding attribute that has me coming back is the unobtrusive low-noise.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ricky
State: Oregon
Age: Over 65
Sex: Male

The product is a vth heater and is junk

Date:December 31, 2010
When I was in Arizona during the winter months, we lived in a park. Three families of us purchased three heaters and all three of the heaters no longer work. For the price we paid for them I definitely would not recommend them to anyone.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trish
State: Texas
Age: 55-65
Sex: Female

This is a fantastic heater with great value.

Date:January 29, 2011
I am always cold in the winter. When everyone is warm w/68 temperature I am still cold. Three or 4 years ago I bought the VH500 on clearance on some website and it was money well spent. Since then I have bought at least 4 other NON-Vornoado space heaters and they only lasted one season. I still have the Vornado. This fall (2010) I bought the PVH. It cost less and not as sturdy as the VH500, but it is still a good little heater. I am looking for another VH500 or a VH600; hoping I can find a good deal somewhere. I love my little heater. I only warm the room I occupy and keep the thermostat low for the remainder of the house.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quiet Operation 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bigriver9
State: Missouri
Age: 55-65
Sex: Male

My third Vornado heater to last 1 winter

Date:April 25, 2011
Thermostate does not track properly as I have 2 of this model and now fan makes a lot of noise and won't start at times switching heater off. People at the company are helpful but am worn out buying their heaters every year. Have gone thru 3 heaters of theirs in 3 years and will wait until they work the bugs out as I like their products but they don't last. Note: I have central heating and these heaters are not used a lot. It's a good company but they need to work on quality control.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arcanomage
Location: Southern California
State: California
Age: 35-44
Sex: Female

Love it. Buying another.

Date:October 9, 2011
TL; DR version:
Exceptional quality. Super quiet operation. Does exactly what it says it does. Reliable. Features are convenient. Pricey but it's saved me hundreds of dollars in heating so it's more than paid for itself.
----
I've had my Vornado for a few years now (TVH 500) and am looking to buy another one just like it or upgrade to the TVH 600.
I love this thing. I don't have to worry that I'll bump into it and get a burn. Or that it'll get knocked over (it's super stable and quite difficult to knock over).
Where I live, the wall heaters are horrible and inefficient. This heater has saved me hundreds of dollars a month in heating bills during winter. I love the thermostat - I never have to get up to adjust it and because it's so efficient, I don't worry about a crazy electric bill if I forget to turn it off before going to work. It's super quiet and while it might not be the prettiest thing in the world, it isn't ugly.
I'm writing this review because I really love this heater. And while it's cool that consumers get to read about complaints so they can make an educated purchase, I felt compelled to speak well on this heater's behalf so that they can get a more balanced view on the product. This is actually the first review I've ever written on a website.
My only complaints are that it's a bit pricey and the beep sound when a button is pressed annoys me. But it's hard to complain too much because the quality and features are great - I feel so spoiled by this product that even though there are lower-priced Vornados, I don't want anything less than this particular model; I'm that attached to it. It's more than paid for itself many times over. I'm only buying a second one because I took the first one to work. Turns out, my new job has me working with a bunch of polar bears who love to crank up the ac - even in the winter.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winifred
Location: Spencer
State: New York
Age: 35-44
Sex: Female

nice heater

Date:October 28, 2011
We have a large room appox 20x20 with 12' ceiling. It really helps make the area comfortable on a cool day/evening without having to turn on the furnace. The remote is an added bonus for a large space as you don't have to get up and adjust it when needed. I like that the heater itself does not get hot. With pets in the house, I don't have to worry about them getting too close or knocking it over.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quiet Operation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JRod
Location: Athens
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Sex: Male

Very satisfied

Date:December 6, 2011
I bought this heater to heat another room in our place untill there done fixing the furnace. I already had an eden pure gen 3 which cost me $327!
I must say I wish I could have seen this first, this a is a far superior product. First the eden pure has no thermostat on it which is absolutley rediculous for a 300+ dollar heater. What they do have is a 10 bars or levels to adjust but you have now idea what its set to. The vornado does have a thermostat and cost %60 less! Eden pure is big and bulky vornado is much smaller yet they produce the same amount of heat. I am very satisfied and would buy another if I needed one in a minute. I have alreay started telling people to buy this over the eden pure as I own both. The only thing I wish is that heating with electric was more efficient. Good luck with your choice
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quiet Operation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ebfrommn
Location: St Paul, MN
State: Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Sex: Female

buy the PVH, not the TVH

Date:December 9, 2011
For whatever reason, our luck with the TVH has been poor. The PVH received in the same shipment works just fine, but neither the TVH nor its replacement has worked.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quiet Operation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
packerfan
Location: Madison, WI
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Sex: Male

OK Little Heater

Date:December 19, 2011
I'll start out saying I have multiple Vornado whole room circulators and love them. I was really hoping to stop using my baseboard heaters this winter so i picked up a TVH 500. It feels nice and solid and looks good. I have a medium sized living room in my apartment that I bought this unit for. I've noticed the digital thermostat is very inaccurate. I believe the heat coming out of the unit gives it a false positive. I put two other thermometers to the sides of the unit and another across the room. 68-70 is comfortable in the winter time for me. I set the Vornado to 70 and it shuts off when the thermometer across the room displays 62, and the two thermometers to the sides say 64-65. To get a nice temperature in the room i'll need to set the unit to 75-80 and let it run for a good couple of hours before the room actually heats up to around 70. While running on High, there is a pulsing rattling sound that becomes annoying pretty quick. I usually have music playing or the TV on, so the sound can be ignored most of the time. The heat that blows out of the unit is initially hot, but even three feet away; it feels like a cold breeze, not warm at all. This might be normal, I’m not sure. I don’t run it all the time and haven’t seen my first electric bill yet, so I can’t say if this is a good purchase yet or not. Overall it does warm up the room after a while, but for the price I paid, I was expecting a lot more out of this unit.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BobbyB
Location: Central east coast barrier island
State: Florida
Age: Over 65
Sex: Male

sturdy metal with pleasing design

Date:December 23, 2011
I was surprised that this unit is sturdy, quality metal construction and attractive.
Perfect for taking the chill off my 15 x 17 bedroom or 22 x 20 family room without having to engage the costly heat pump.
The controls and indicators are especially satisfactory. The room temperature and mode of operation remain visible after the TVH is powered on.
Compared to my Vornado iControl this TVH 500 is noticibly noisier. That said, I liked this model so much that I immediately ordered another one.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Operation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suburban
Location: Virginia
State: Virgina
Age: 55-65
Sex: Male

Good but noisy.

Date:January 2, 2012
I bought this heater last month (S/N: Aug11 - 10472). It is the second TVH 500 Heater I bought [the first was purchased in 2008 (S/N: Aug07 - 14294)]. Although I like both of these heaters, the newer one is much noisier than the older one. Not sure why the difference.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quiet Operation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
curmudgeon
Location: Harrison, ME
State: Maine
Age: Over 65
Sex: Male

Define what you're looking for 1st

Date:March 13, 2013
I purchased this product to quickly heat an exercise room in by basement. And I wanted the remote so I could turn the unit ON from the top of the stairs. Results? Well.....
I would turn the unit on about 10 minutes before exercising. Because the heated air coming out is not HOT, I was initially disappointed. Comparing it to a ceramic heater (cheaper, mind you) I had been using, well the ceramic heater made the area around the unit feel much warmer than the Vornado. But the Vornado, while throwing out air that was less warm, distributed the warmth much better. It would be excellent as a long term use room heater rather than a quick chill killer and I was more looking for a quick chill killer. Should note: As a room heater it is very quiet, and pretty draft-less
Only real disappointment is the remote. It's useless. You have to be within 6 feet of the heater for it to work, so I can't use it from the top-of-the-stairs, the ONLY reason why I didn't buy a cheaper unit.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TVH 500 Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fanster
Location: Huntington Beach
State: California
Age: Over 65
Sex: Male

About My Review Re. This Fan Shutting Off

Date:April 28, 2014
I should have told Vornado about the problem in the first place.
Now that folks at the company knows about the problem, they're taking care of it. . . . and after I went all this time without my telling them about it! They'll be sending me another fan to take the place of this one; and btw the representative, Harold, was quite gracious about it.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.